Clinical compliance at Spring Arbor: the full list
Before any practicum, SAU expects an unrestricted RN license, your own liability insurance, a background check and drug test, CPR/BLS, TB testing, immunizations and HIPAA training, with the two screenings repeated every year. The detailed list comes from the 2023-24 Graduate Catalog and an undated SAU blog post, so confirm the current version with your program. You pay for all of it.
Get your placement plan
Tell us your Spring Arbor track and where you live. A placement advisor replies with what your preceptor and site need to look like for Spring Arbor to approve them.

01The list in the 2023-24 catalog
SAU's most detailed compliance list is in the 2023-24 Graduate Catalog, which introduces it as requirements that may include, but are not limited to, the items below. The MSN section applies it to students completing any School of Nursing program, the DNP section repeats it, and certificate students must meet the MSN list.
| Item | What the catalog asks for | Timing |
|---|---|---|
| RN license | Current, unrestricted and unencumbered, in your state or country of practice | Before the practicum, then kept current |
| Liability insurance | Professional nursing liability cover for the whole enrollment, at minimum limits the catalog sets | Before the practicum, then kept current |
| Background check | Criminal check at the federal or international level | Before the first practicum, then every year |
| Drug test | Started by the student | Before the first practicum, then every year |
| CPR/BLS | Certification as required | Kept current |
| TB testing | Proof of testing | Repeat interval not stated |
| Immunizations | Any required immunizations and vaccinations | Individual vaccines not named |
| HIPAA training | Proof of training | Repeat interval not stated |
The list closes with others as required, and the catalog links the costs to agency requirements, so expect your clinical site to add items of its own.
02What SAU's clinicals article adds
An undated SAU blog post on clinicals lists the documents students gather before their first rotation. Alongside the background check, drug screening and HIPAA training, it adds OSHA training, verification of health insurance, immunization records and blood titers. Those extras are covered on our immunizations and TB page.
The same article promises that SAU staff and faculty will walk you through the requirements and hand you a document list, and that you can check whether sites near you already have affiliation agreements with SAU. Because the post carries no date, treat its list as a guide and the list your program sends you as the rule.
Two items students often expect are missing from every SAU source we found: ACLS or PALS certification, and a pre-clinical physical exam. Neither is on SAU's list, but a site may still ask for them.
03Who pays and where the records go
You do. The 2023-24 catalog puts every cost connected with these requirements on the student and requires you to keep your records up to date with the nursing department.
No SAU page we checked names a compliance-tracking company. When your program tells you where to upload, use that route, and keep your own copy of every certificate, result and card in one folder. If a site's onboarding asks for the same documents, you can send them the same day.
Budget for each item, including the yearly repeats and policy renewals as well as the first round, since the requirement runs until you finish the program.
04Deadlines and the yearly cycle
Everything has to be in place before your first practicum or clinical practice begins. The background check and drug test then repeat every year until you complete the program, and your license, insurance and CPR card must stay current throughout.
Compliance runs alongside the paperwork clock. The 2023-24 catalog, in its certificate section, gives the one firm lead time SAU publishes: clinical agreement, affiliation and preceptor verification forms are due no less than four weeks ahead of the clinical course. Our clinical paperwork page covers those documents; this page covers you.
Permission to start a practicum also rests on your grades, finished prerequisites, and sign-off from both your academic advisor and the nursing department. A clean compliance file is necessary, but not sufficient on its own.
05A compliance calendar that works
- Get the current listAsk your program for its current checklist as soon as your first practicum appears on your plan. Don't work from the 2023-24 catalog alone.
- Start the slow items firstTiters and immunization series can take weeks, so begin them early.
- Buy insurance for the whole enrollmentChoose a policy whose dates cover every semester you'll be enrolled, and renew before it lapses. See liability insurance.
- Time the two screeningsStart the background check and drug test yourself before the first practicum, then set a reminder for the yearly repeat. See background check and drug test.
- Track every expiry datePut license, CPR, insurance and TB dates in one calendar and review it at the start of each semester. What SAU asks of your license is on the RN license page.
06RN-to-BSN and DNP students
The online RN-to-BSN uses no external preceptor. Its catalog simply requires that you meet all institutional requirements before starting NUR 494, the Senior Nursing Project. No item-by-item list is published for it, so ask your advisor what applies to you before the project course opens.
DNP students meet the same list in the 2023-24 catalog, which repeats it in the DNP section; that version also expects an APRN license in your state of practice if you hold that role. Practicum hours for the DNP are covered on the DNP page.
Course numbers on this page come from SAU's catalogs, which may have changed; your advisor can confirm the numbers that apply to you.
Questions Spring Arbor students ask
Which compliance tracking system does Spring Arbor use?
SAU doesn't name one publicly. The 2023-24 catalog only says your records must be kept current with the nursing department, and none of the SAU pages we checked names a tracking company. Your program will tell you where to submit documents as your first practicum approaches.
Do I need ACLS or PALS for SAU clinicals?
Not according to anything SAU publishes. The catalog asks for CPR/BLS certification as required and doesn't mention ACLS or PALS. A clinical site can set its own requirements, so if your site or specialty expects an advanced card, get it before your paperwork goes in.
Does SAU require a physical exam before clinicals?
No SAU source we found lists a health physical. The NUR 602R residency does test you on a full history and physical, but you are the examiner there; it is a skills check, not a health clearance. Your clinical site may still ask for one, so check its onboarding list.
Do post-master's certificate students have the same compliance list?
Yes. Under the 2023-24 catalog, certificate students must meet the MSN requirements: license, liability insurance, background check, drug test, CPR, TB testing, immunizations and HIPAA training. The certificate section is also where the catalog states the four-week rule for clinical paperwork, the one firm lead time SAU publishes.
Can my employer's records count toward SAU compliance?
SAU doesn't say. The catalog asks the student to start the background check and drug test and to keep records with the nursing department. Some employer documents, such as a current CPR card or TB result, might satisfy an item, but confirm with your program before relying on them.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-24
We check these pages against Spring Arbor's own published sources. SAU's nursing faculty and current catalog have the final word.
More preceptor leads, sooner, for your SAU clinicals.
Tell us your Spring Arbor track, where you live and when your clinical course starts. We look for a preceptor and site that fit SAU's rules for your track and help you get the paperwork in on time.
- Matched to your track: FNP, AGPCNP, PMHNP, PNP, Nurse Educator or DNP
- Clinical agreement, affiliation and preceptor verification forms ready early
- In your home state, near where you live
Start your placement plan
A placement advisor replies with what an SAU-ready preceptor and site look like for you.