Immunizations, TB testing and health records for SAU clinicals
SAU's 2023-24 Graduate Catalog asks for proof of TB testing, any required immunizations, CPR/BLS and HIPAA training before clinicals. An undated SAU blog post adds immunization records, blood titers, OSHA training and proof of health insurance. SAU names no individual vaccines, so get the current list from your program and your clinical site.
Get your placement plan
Tell us your Spring Arbor track and where you live. A placement advisor replies with what your preceptor and site need to look like for Spring Arbor to approve them.

01The health and training items SAU lists
SAU's two sources overlap but don't match. The catalog is the formal list; the blog post is a checklist of documents students gather before their first rotation. Read them together.
| Item | Where SAU lists it | What is specified |
|---|---|---|
| TB testing | 2023-24 Graduate Catalog | Proof of testing; method and repeat interval not stated |
| Immunizations and vaccinations | 2023-24 Graduate Catalog | Any that are required; no vaccines named |
| Immunization records and blood titers | Undated SAU clinicals post | Records and titers; which titers not stated |
| CPR/BLS | 2023-24 Graduate Catalog | Certification as required; ACLS and PALS not mentioned |
| HIPAA training | Catalog and clinicals post | Proof of training |
| OSHA training | Undated SAU clinicals post | Proof of training |
| Health insurance | Undated SAU clinicals post | Verification of coverage |
The background check, drug test, liability insurance and RN license are covered on our clinical compliance page. This page is about your health records and training certificates.
02TB testing
The catalog asks for proof of TB testing and stops there. It doesn't say whether SAU wants a skin test or a blood test, whether a two-step test is needed, or how often the result must be renewed. Unlike the background check and drug test, TB testing isn't described as a yearly repeat.
In practice, the clinical site often sets the window. A site may want a result dated within a set period before your first day, so time the test to your practicum start rather than to your admission date.
If you have had a positive result in the past, tell your program early and ask what documentation it accepts in place of a new test. Sorting that out can take longer than the test itself.
03Immunizations and titers
No SAU nursing source names individual vaccines. The catalog says any required immunizations and vaccinations; the blog adds immunization records and blood titers without saying which. MMR, varicella, hepatitis B, Tdap, flu and COVID-19 aren't itemized for clinicals on any SAU page we found.
The only named list is campus-wide and recommended rather than required. SAU's 2026-27 Student Handbook recommends, for all students, the childhood DPT and polio series, the MMR series, the varicella series or a confirmed history of chickenpox, the hepatitis B series, Tdap within the last ten years, and meningitis vaccination. It is a sensible place to start gathering records, not the clinical rule.
Titers take time: a blood draw, a lab result and, if a result comes back low, possibly another dose and a recheck. Start them first.
04Health insurance
Verification of health insurance appears in SAU's clinicals post, not in the 2023-24 catalog's list. Plan to show it anyway, since the post lists it among the documents students gather before a first rotation, and your program's current checklist may do the same.
Ask your program what form of proof it wants, such as a copy of your card or a letter of coverage, and whether a site-specific form is involved. If your coverage changes during the program, update the proof you have on file.
Students who live near the main campus can use Holton Health and Wellness Services, which offers physicals, immunizations and lab draws and bills health insurance. Online students elsewhere will use their own providers.
05OSHA and HIPAA training
HIPAA training is on the catalog's list; OSHA training is on the blog's. SAU doesn't say which course, provider or format it accepts, or how often either must be renewed.
If your employer already requires this training, ask your program whether that certificate counts before you take another course. Keep the completion date visible on whatever you submit, because a clinical site may apply its own renewal window. If the site also runs its own orientation modules, finish those before your first day and keep the completion records beside your SAU file.
HIPAA matters beyond the certificate. Your hour logs, case write-ups and messages about patients all have to leave out anything that identifies a person. See clinical hour logs for how that applies to logging.
06Gathering it all without a scramble
- Ask for the current checklistSAU's clinicals post says staff and faculty will provide a list of required documents. Request it when your first practicum appears on your plan.
- Pull the records you already haveYour employer's health file, your own provider and your state immunization registry may already hold most of what you need.
- Order titers and any doses firstThey take the longest. Then book the TB test so its date suits your practicum start.
- Collect training certificatesHIPAA, OSHA and CPR/BLS, each with its expiry date noted.
- Ask the site what it addsYour clinical site may require vaccines or tests SAU doesn't list. Get its onboarding list before the four-week paperwork deadline; our paperwork page explains that deadline.
Under the 2023-24 catalog, you pay for these items and keep current records with the nursing department. Keep a copy of everything you submit.
Questions Spring Arbor students ask
Does SAU require a flu shot or COVID-19 vaccine for clinicals?
No SAU nursing source names either vaccine. The 2023-24 catalog asks for any required immunizations, which leaves room for your clinical site's rules. Sites often set their own vaccine policies, so ask the site and your program before your paperwork goes in.
Will SAU accept an IGRA blood test instead of a TB skin test?
SAU doesn't say which TB method it accepts; the catalog asks only for proof of TB testing. Ask your program and your clinical site. If both accept a blood test, it can spare you the return trip a skin test needs to have the result read.
Do I need titers, or is a vaccine record enough?
SAU's undated clinicals post lists both immunization records and blood titers without saying which titers or when a record alone will do. The 2023-24 catalog doesn't mention titers at all. Ask your program for its current list and check your clinical site's requirements too.
Can I get immunizations at SAU's campus health center?
Holton Health and Wellness Services on the main campus offers physicals, immunizations and lab draws and bills health insurance. That helps students near Spring Arbor, Michigan. Online students in other states will use their own provider, employer health service or a local clinic.
Do I need proof of health insurance for SAU clinicals?
SAU's clinicals post lists verification of health insurance among the documents to gather, though the 2023-24 catalog list doesn't include it. Plan to show it, and ask your program what form of proof it wants and whether your clinical site needs a copy as well.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-24
We check these pages against Spring Arbor's own published sources. SAU's nursing faculty and current catalog have the final word.
More preceptor leads, sooner, for your SAU clinicals.
Tell us your Spring Arbor track, where you live and when your clinical course starts. We look for a preceptor and site that fit SAU's rules for your track and help you get the paperwork in on time.
- Matched to your track: FNP, AGPCNP, PMHNP, PNP, Nurse Educator or DNP
- Clinical agreement, affiliation and preceptor verification forms ready early
- In your home state, near where you live
Start your placement plan
A placement advisor replies with what an SAU-ready preceptor and site look like for you.