NUR 660: the Nurse Educator internship
NUR 660 is SAU's Nurse Educator internship: supervised field experience in nursing education settings, plus an evidence-based practice project proposal. The 2023-24 Graduate Catalog set it at 150 hours: 100 in an education setting and 50 in direct care, and the Nurse Educator certificate page still lists 150 internship hours. SAU's MSN page gives no hour count for it today.
Get your placement plan
Tell us your Spring Arbor track and where you live. A placement advisor replies with what your preceptor and site need to look like for Spring Arbor to approve them.

01NUR 660 then and now
The course number and hour split trace to SAU's 2023-24 Graduate Catalog, since newer catalogs sit behind a verification screen. The track has changed since then, with NUR 780B added alongside the internship; your Brightspace course list and your advisor are the current word.
| Detail | 2023-24 catalog | SAU's pages now |
|---|---|---|
| Length | One semester | Not stated |
| Hours | 50 direct care and 100 in an education setting | MSN page: none given; certificate page: 150 |
| Content | Individually supervised field experience | Field experience in nursing education settings, plus a project proposal |
| Prerequisites | NUR 612, NUR 618, NUR 602, NUR 602R | NUR 551, 602, 612, 618, 625, 635 (certificate page) |
| Transfer of hours | None for the certificate | Not stated |
02Two kinds of internship hours
In the 2023-24 catalog the internship split its 150 hours in two. Fifty were individually supervised field experience in direct care. The other 100 were in a nursing education setting, which the certificate section of the same catalog calls an academic setting.
That wording difference is worth raising. A school of nursing is plainly an academic setting; a hospital's staff education department is education but not academic. SAU does not say which settings count for the 100 hours, what teaching tasks are expected, or who may supervise them.
The 50 direct-care hours raise a second question, covered in the next section: whether they still exist now that the track also has a 125-hour direct-care practicum.
03How NUR 660 relates to NUR 780B
When the 2023-24 catalog was written, NUR 660 was the Nurse Educator track's only field course. SAU's current Nurse Educator pages add NUR 780B (125 direct-care hours) and give the track's total as 125 clinical hours while still showing NUR 660 with no hours attached.
SAU's pages do not explain how the two fit together. The Nurse Educator certificate page lists 150 internship hours and also names NUR 780B. The RN-to-MSN Nurse Educator page gives 225 clinical hours while the tuition page gives 125. Only SAU can reconcile those figures for you.
Put three questions to your advisor or to the Director of DNP and MSN-EDU/MSN-MBA Programs: how many internship hours NUR 660 carries for your cohort, whether any of them are direct care, and whether they count toward the program's clinical total. The NUR 780B page covers the practicum, and the clinical hours page shows SAU's figures together.
04Who finds the site and who supervises
No SAU page says who arranges the internship site. SAU's FAQ puts preceptor choice in the student's hands, in the student's home state, and none of the Nurse Educator pages mentions placement support or a partner network, so plan to find the education setting yourself.
The supervisor is also undefined. NUR 780B names four kinds of preceptor, but that list belongs to the practicum; SAU publishes no qualification rule for whoever supervises the internship's education hours. Before you ask a nurse educator to take you on, find out from faculty what they need to know about that person: degree, role, teaching experience or anything else.
Once the answers are in, a clear request helps. Tell the prospective supervisor the hour count, the semester, the project proposal, and what SAU's faculty will send them.
05Prerequisites and timing
The 2023-24 catalog puts NUR 660 behind the same four courses as every practicum: NUR 602 and its residency NUR 602R, plus NUR 612 and NUR 618. SAU's current certificate page adds the education sequence: NUR 625 (Educational Theory and Curriculum Design) and NUR 635 (Instructional Strategies), along with NUR 551, 602, 612 and 618, with NUR 635 following NUR 625.
That makes the internship one of the last courses in the track, which leaves time to line up the site during the education courses. RN-to-MSN students reach it later still, after the BSN phase and a third-year residency. The catalog also describes the Nurse Educator program as preparing graduates for the NLN Certified Nurse Educator exam. The prerequisites page has the full course chain.
06Planning the internship
In its certificate section, the 2023-24 catalog requires the clinical agreement, affiliation and preceptor verification paperwork four weeks or more ahead of any clinical course. Ask whether the same forms are needed for an education site, and give yourself that four-week margin either way. When a site agrees to host you, confirm the hours and semester in writing so the commitment matches what faculty approve.
Certificate students should note the catalog's rule that no Nurse Educator hours carry over from past study, as the PMC hour transfer page explains. A placement advisor looks for direct-care preceptors and nursing education settings in your area and puts together the file faculty check, so SAU can rule on each site with everything in front of it. Track detail is on the Nurse Educator page; to begin, tell us your semester.
Questions Spring Arbor students ask
How many hours is the Spring Arbor Nurse Educator internship?
In the 2023-24 catalog, NUR 660 totaled 150 hours, split 50 direct care and 100 education. The live Nurse Educator certificate page still lists 150 internship hours, but the MSN page gives no internship figure. Ask course faculty for your cohort's number before you book a site.
Could my employer's education department host NUR 660?
SAU publishes nothing on using your employer for the internship, and it does not say whether a hospital education department counts as the education setting. Ask faculty both questions. If the answer is yes, keep your internship hours clearly separate from your paid role. The employer site page lists what to ask.
Can prior teaching experience count toward NUR 660?
For the Nurse Educator certificate, the 2023-24 catalog says no hours transfer. For the MSN, SAU publishes nothing about crediting earlier teaching. You can ask your advisor, but plan on completing the full internship, and use your experience to find a strong site rather than to shorten it.
Who supervises me during NUR 660?
The catalog calls the internship individually supervised field experience, but SAU publishes no qualification rule for the supervisor, and the NUR 780B preceptor list does not automatically carry over. Ask course faculty what they need to know about your supervisor before you ask anyone to take you on.
Does NUR 660 prepare me for the CNE exam?
The 2023-24 catalog says the Nurse Educator program prepares graduates for the NLN Certified Nurse Educator exam, and NUR 660 is where the supervised teaching practice takes place. Eligibility for the exam is set by the NLN rather than by SAU, so check the NLN's current requirements alongside your SAU plan.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-24
We check these pages against Spring Arbor's own published sources. SAU's nursing faculty and current catalog have the final word.
More preceptor leads, sooner, for your SAU clinicals.
Tell us your Spring Arbor track, where you live and when your clinical course starts. We look for a preceptor and site that fit SAU's rules for your track and help you get the paperwork in on time.
- Matched to your track: FNP, AGPCNP, PMHNP, PNP, Nurse Educator or DNP
- Clinical agreement, affiliation and preceptor verification forms ready early
- In your home state, near where you live
Start your placement plan
A placement advisor replies with what an SAU-ready preceptor and site look like for you.